Board of Directors

The Cancer Agency is guided by a board of directors appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council. The responsibilities of the board include:

    • Selecting the president and chief executive officer and reviewing his or her performance.
    • Establishing the overall strategic direction and framework for the Cancer Agency, including the mission, vision and values.
    • Providing financial stewardship by overseeing the financial management of the organization.
    • Monitoring the overall quality and safety of services and programs for staff and patients.
    • Establishing and maintaining relationships with key stakeholders.
    • Maintaining effective governance, which includes annually evaluating the board’s effectiveness and that of its committees.

All of the members sit on committees that are designed to help strengthen the Cancer Agency’s accountability to the people of this province.

Board Members

Ron Waschuk, Chair – Elkridge

board of directors ron waschukRon Waschuk has senior management experience in the public and private sectors, including eight years as Executive Director of the Saskatchewan Prescription Drug Plan and 13 years of senior and executive management in the Pharmacy and Optical Divisions of Wal-Mart Canada Corp. He holds a degree in Pharmacy, has an extensive background in healthcare delivery, executive administration and management, and has held leadership positions in a variety of professional associations.

Howard Crofts, Vice Chair – Regina

board of directors howard croftsHoward Crofts has been a Chartered Professional Accountant for over 40 years. He practiced public accounting until retiring from MNP LLP where he held various leadership roles in the firm during the last 10 years of his career. He has been involved with health-related charitable organizations as a volunteer with the Canadian Cancer Society, Saskatchewan Division and as the Chair of the Hospitals of Regina Foundation, and served on the Boards of Directors of Group Medical Services, Raven Oil Corporation, the Saskatchewan Auto Fund and SGI and its subsidiaries and as a member of the Investment Review and Pension Committees of Greystone Managed Investments. Howard is also currently active serving as a member of the boards and various committees of Financial and Consumer Affairs Authority and Pro Docs Ltd.

Lionel Chabot - North Battleford

board of directors lionel chabotLionel Chabot has spent over 29 years in the health services industry, including nine years as the Vice President of Finance and Operations for Prairie North Health Authority and 11 in various senior management positions in La Ronge. During his tenure in the North, Lionel was CEO of the Mamawetan Churchill River Health Authority, Assistant CEO for the Mamawetan Churchill River Health District and Administrator for the La Ronge Health Centre. Since retiring in 2015, Lionel has worked as a part-time consultant focusing on applying Lean tools in the construction sector and project management. In 2018, he was appointed to the Council of the College of Physicians and Surgeons.

Douglas Finnie – Saskatoon

board of directors douglas finnieDoug Finnie has been on the Saskatchewan Cancer Agency Board since 2007. He is a public representative with the Saskatchewan Registered Nurses Association and a member of the Professional Practice Committee of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Saskatchewan. He was a member of the Saskatoon Regional Health Authority from 2005 to 2012 and was Executive Director of Leadership Saskatoon. He has served in leadership and business development roles with Canadian Western Bank and Royal Bank in both Canada and the United States. Doug has extensive leadership experience with charitable, cultural, healthcare and business development organizations.

Don Ravis – Saskatoon

board of directors don ravisDon Ravis has a wide variety of experiences in business, public and volunteer sectors. In the past 20 years he has gained significant governance experience as a volunteer with Habitat for Humanity, Saskatoon Community Foundation, Waskesiu Community Council, Leadership Saskatoon and Saskatoon Auditorium and Convention Centre. He served on the Saskatoon Health Authority Board and is a former facilitator in Health Care Governance Training with the Canadian Patient Safety Institute. Don also served as a parliamentarian in the House of Commons. He currently serves as a board member on the Cancer Foundation of Saskatchewan.

Frances Stang – Macklin

board of directors frances stangFrances Stang is a retired teacher and school administrator, having taught in both Saskatchewan and Alberta. During her career she served on professional committees in the area of bargaining, professional growth plan development, critical incident stress management protocols and convention planning. In retirement, her volunteer work includes serving on the board of Bea Fisher Centre, Inc. in Lloydminster and as chair of the Macklin Advisory Committee of Ability Development Services by Bea Fisher, Macklin; being a member of Special Olympics Saskatchewan – Unity and District; as well as actively involved in her local parish community.

Dr. Walter Streelasky – Melville

board of directors walter streelaskyDr. Walter Streelasky is the long-time president of Horizon Credit Union, a faculty advisor at the University of Regina and Brandon University, the current Mayor of the City of Melville and Chairperson of the Melville and District Community Foundation. He has also served as Chairperson of the Saskatchewan Centennial Celebrations 2005 (Melville) and Chairperson of Melville’s 2000 Millennium Celebrations and was a member of the Sunrise Regional Health Authority Board.

Kelly Scott - Moose Jaw

Kelly Scott is a licensed Funeral Director and Embalmer and holds a Certificate in Grief and Loss Counselling. Kelly and her husband owned Parkview Funeral Chapel in Moose Jaw until June 2018 when they sold their business to another local funeral home, however she remained on staff as a funeral director/embalmer. Kelly has volunteered for the Canadian Red Cross, teaching their “Beyond the Hurt” program in local communities and schools. She served as Secretary on the Business Women of Moose Jaw Executive and was active in their annual PRISM Awards. Kelly is a mentor with the Funeral and Cremation Services Council of Saskatchewan, providing the intern and preceptor with mentoring on an at-need basis and quarterly at minimum.


Board Coordinator:
Lisa Moens
phone: 639-625-2001
email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


Learn More